Skip to main content

The Chef of the Year 2020 is Lari Helenius, restaurant OLO. He won the honoured competition on the 13th of March 2020 at the Gastro Helsinki fair at Messukeskus Helsinki.

Chef of The Year is the Finnish championship of chefs. The contest has sparked many success stories for its winners. Chef of The Year was first held in 1995, and the first winner was Pekka Terävä from the Michelin starred restaurant Olo. The Chef of The Year 2020 is Lari Helenius, restaurant OLO.

ELO Foundation has been responsible for organizing the competition since 2009 together with a broad network of partners and professionals. The Chef of The Year competition, and with it also Finnish food culture, are constantly promoted to an even larger, international audience.

Since 2013 ELO Foundation has also organized the Waiter of The Year -competition. The two competitions take place simultaneously and competitors often work together. Both competitions aim to create even more appreciation for the trade, and encourage the development of professional skill in the restaurant business as well as food and beverage sector and tourism.

Winners of Chef of the Year 1995-2020

1995 – Pekka Terävä
1996 – Aki Wahlman
1997 – Michael Björklund
1998 – Petteri Luoto
1999 – Markus Aremo
2000 – Peppi Aralehto
2001 – Henry Tikkanen
2002 – Marko Palovaara
2003 – Ari Ruoho
2004 – Juuse Mikkonen
2005 – Matti Jämsén
2010 – Mika Palonen
2011 – Henri Kotkavuori
2012 – Eero Vottonen
2013 – Erik Mansikka
2014 – Heikki Liekola
2015 – Ismo Sipeläinen
2016 – Toni Kostian
2017 – Mattias Åhman
2018 – Kalle Tanner
2019 – Mikko Kaukonen
2020 – Lari Helenius

Follow the Chef of The Year on Facebook

Follow The Chef of The Year in Instagram

For more information

Bettina Lindfors,  Executive Director,  ELO Foundation
+358 40 920 9810,

Lari Helenius, Chef of The Year 2020. © Santeri Stenvall


Author Kia

More posts by Kia